Politics › Political parties

Cameroon: 11 new political parties granted authorization

Paul Atanga Nji, Territorial Administration boss (c) copyright

Cameroon now counts over 330 legal political parties exercising in the country.

This follows the authorization of some 11 new political parties to go about their activities in the country.

This information is contained in a release signed Wednesday May 5 by the Minister of Territorial Administration, Paul Atanga Nji.

These parties include;

  • Alliance Politique du Cameroon under the leadership of Celestin Djamen, former ally of Prof Maurie Kamto, national President of the Cameroon Renaissance Movement party;
  • Organisation du Mouvement Patriotique chaired by Benoit Bertrand Onana;
  • Jouvence-La Jeunesse Camerounaise en Politique under Valere Bertrand Bessala;
  • Onction pour la Paix et le Developpement du Cameroun by Germain Mvondo;
  • Union Democratique du Peuple Camerounais with Richard Okala Essengue as national President;
  • Serviteur Du Peuple Camerounais, SDPC by Charlrs Francois Tanga;
  • Rassemblement Democratique du Cameroun, RDC by Seidou Aliyou Njoya;
  • Union pour la Realisation de la Necessite Africaine, URNA by Felix Lingom;
  • Citoyens Actifs du Cameroun, CAC under Patrick Serge Eteme;
  • Alliance Democratique des Handicapes et Sympatisant du Cameoroun, ADHSC by Magloire Kouati and,
  • Forces Modernes des Democrates Camerounais, FMDC by Djomou Touomou.

According to the Territorial Administration boss, these parties were granted authorization in a bit to enrich political debates in the country and encourage freedom of expression.



mm Published on 01.08.2022

Mankon Museum

The Mankon Museum is an art and cultural museum located in Mankon Bamenda. The museum was inaugurated in 2006, and is situated at the entrance…


Subscribe to Journal du Cameroun newsletter and receive all news stories free of charge

Back top