Sport › Football

Cameroon football league adopts new format for local championship

The Cameroon Professional Football League, LFPC has adopted a new format for the local football championship that kicks off on January 26.

Last week, the league adopted a new format that will see the championship played in two groups each both in the top tiers and the inferior divisions.

There was also a change of name for following the end of the sponsorship eal between the league and its main sponsor thus the local championsips will be called Ligue 1 and 2.

Thus the Ligue 1 will comprise of two groups made up of sight teams each with the best three teams moving to the play offs to determine the champions while the others will fall back in another group where the relegated teams will be determined. Same principle will be applied in the second tier.

The league says this new format is to enable it meet up with the deadlines set up by the Confederation of African Football to algn with the new continental calendar.

League 1

Group A : New Stars, Colombe, Union de Douala, Avion FC, Apejes, PWD de Bamenda, Coton Sport, Dragon and TKC

Group B : UMS, Feutcheu, Eding Sport, Astres, Fovu de Baham, Unisport, Stade Renard, YOSA and AS Fortuna

League 2

Group A : FAP, Panthère du Ndé, Etoa-Meki, Canon de Yaoundé, Bang Bullets, AS Matelots, Dynamo de Douala

Group B : Renaissance, Racing de Bafoussam, Yafoot, Bamboutos, Ofta de Kribi, Léopard, Aigle and Lion Blessé

Published on 10.02.2021

Cameroon: La Vallée de Bana, ideal place for tourism

Located in the heart of the West region in the Upper-Nkam Division, the Bana valley commonly referred to as La Vallée de Bana (LVB) is…


Subscribe to Journal du Cameroun newsletter and receive all news stories free of charge

  • No event.
Back top