International › APA

Former Nigerian President Jonathan leads EISA observer mission to Sierra Leone

Former Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan will on Friday lead a team of observers of the Election Observation Mission of the Electoral Institute for Sustainable Democracy in Africa (EISA) to Sierra Leone’s general elections scheduled to hold on 7 March, 2018.The spokesman of the former president, Mr. Ikechukwu Eze, said in a statement on Thursday that Dr. Jonathan would be leading the Mission, which has observers drawn from civil society organisations and election management bodies from across the continent.

According to the statement, the former Nigerian President is pleased to be part of the process “in support of a peaceful and transparent election in Sierra Leone.”

The EISA is a not-for-profit election-focused organization that is working with national, regional, Pan-African and global partners throughout the African continent. It is based in South Africa with field offices across the continent and has supported or observed over 100 electoral and political processes in Africa.

Local media reports quoted a statement from the EISA as saying that the Mission’s assignment is in line with the organisation’s “vision of an African continent where democratic governance, human rights and citizen participation are upheld in a peaceful environment.”

“EISA gives focus to the crucial role that election observation plays in promoting the transparency of electoral processes and lesson learning among nations. Consequently, EISA believes that international observers play a crucially supportive role in increasing public confidence and enhancing the credibility of the electoral process,” the statement said.

It added that the EISA’s work extends beyond electoral support to include other democracy and governance fields such as political party support, legislative strengthening and civil society engagement of the African Peer Review Mechanism.

EISA has current and past field offices in countries like Burundi, Central African Republic (CAR), Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Gabon, Kenya, Madagascar, Mozambique, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan, Zambia and Zimbabwe, thus reflecting its broader geographical mandate and coverage.

Back top