International › APA

Kenyatta assents to Act for equitable share of $3bn to Counties

Pas d'image

President Kenya’s president Uhuru Kenyatta on Thursday in Nairobi assented to an Act setting out the equitable share of the national revenue for each of the 47 counties.A total of 302 billion shillings ($3 billion) will be transferred to the counties as equitable share of the national revenue with calculations based on division of revenue approved by Parliament.

The County Allocation of Revenue Act 2017 specifies what each county will get on the basis of the revenue sharing formula approved by Parliament.

It also sets out details of conditional allocations from the national government to each county government for the 2017/2018 financial year.

Nairobi County will get the highest allocation of 15.402 billion,($144 million) an increase of more than while Turkana in northern Kenya gets the second highest allocation of 11.307 billion shillings($106 million).

The Act also provides a budget ceiling on recurrent expenditure for counties.

It sets out the limits of recurrent expenditure for county assemblies and county executives in each of the counties.

Back top