International › APA

MTN Nigeria board Chairman, directors retire

The telecom giant, MTN Nigeria, has notified the Nigerian Stock Exchange, the investing public and other stakeholders of the exit of its non-executive directors including the Chairman, Dr. Paschal Dozie.They retiring from the Board after 18 years of service.

The Company Secretary, Mr. Uto Ukpanah, made this known on Wednesday in Lagos and that the retirement would take effect on September 2, 2019.

According to him, it is due to the expiration of their tenure and in compliance with applicable codes of Corporate Governance.

He listed them as Dr. Pascal Dozie,, Chairman; Col. Sani Bello (Rtd), Vice Chairman; Chief Victor Odili, Non-Executive Director.

Other non-executive directors are Malam Ahmed Dasuki; Mr. Babatunde Folawiyo, Mr. Gbenga Oyebode.

Acknowledging the vital contributions made by the outgoing directors over the last 18 years, MTN Nigeria CEO, Ferdinand Moolman, offered the company’s heartfelt thanks to the pioneering Chairman, Dozie and the outgoing Directors.

“Our journey over the last 18 years has been incredible, and it would not have been possible without the initial entrepreneurial spirit of our founding directors, and their unfailing and dedicated support for MTN Nigeria’s vision over the years.

“I could not have asked for a more supportive, knowledgeable and experienced group of advisors,” Moolman said.

Speaking on behalf of the outgoing directors, Dozie said, ”In 2001, when I made the first call on the MTN Nigeria network, I don’t think anyone envisaged the pace and scale of growth that we, and the broader telecoms sector would achieve over the next 18 years.

“It is a unique story that we are immensely proud of, and having served as Chairman of MTN Nigeria for all of those 18 years, I achieved a long-held ambition earlier this year, when MTN Nigeria listed on the NSE, providing an opportunity for a wider pool of Nigerians to become investors in the company.

“I cannot think of a better time to be handing over the reins of the company to a new Chairman, and to a new group of distinguished Nigerian Directors.”

The Board of MTN Nigeria Communications Plc also expressed its appreciation to the six directors for their commitment, leadership and extensive contributions to the success of the company since their appointment in 2002.

The Board wished them the very best in all their future endeavours.

The Company also announced the appointment of Dr. Ernest Ndukwe as the Chairman designate of MTN, and the addition of the following directors with effect from Sept. 2.

According to the statement, with the changes, the board will comprise: Dr. Ernest Ndukwe, Chairman Designate, Mr. Ferdinand Moolman- Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Michael Onochie Ajukwu – Independent Non-Executive Director, Mr. Muhammad K. Ahmad, Independent Non-Executive Director, Mr. Andrew Alli – Non-Executive Director, Mr. Rhidwaan Gasant, Independent Non-Executive Director; Mrs. Omobola Johnson, Non-Executive Director.

Others listed are Mr. A.B. Mahmoud, Non-Executive Director; Mr. Ralph Mupita, Non-Executive Director, Mr. Paul Norman, Non-Executive Director; Mrs. Ifueko Okauru, Non-Executive Director; Mr. Jens Schulte-Bockum, Non-Executive Director; Mr. Rob Shuter , Non-Executive Director; and Mr. Karl Toriola, Non-Executive Director.

Back top